News: Contact us to upgrade your software!

Author Topic: Creating Assemblies  (Read 6607 times)

Ruben

  • *
  • Posts: 36
    •  
Creating Assemblies
« on: May 28, 2014, 09:55:26 AM »
In Hypersizer 6.4 we could use the spreadsheet utilitiy to set the groups of the database, however in version 7.0 Assemblies are used instead of Groups and there is no way to set the Assemblies. Is there going to be an update to the SS utility to allow us to have this functionality again?

Regards,
Ruben

Ryan

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 145
    •  
Re: Creating Assemblies
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2014, 02:36:44 PM »
Hi Ruben,

We are not supporting that Setup Groups worksheet anymore since the V7 changes to the groups and Dimensions tab have taken away a lot the complexity that had to do with setting up groups. Components are automatically assigned to their own group in V7 so a lot of the explicit group setup goes away.

Is the main emphasis simply assigning components to assemblies/groups or is the issue applying the assembly/group settings - concepts, variables, materials? Is it a single variable/material assignment or ranges of variables and materials?

Analysis dimensions and dimension ranges for sizing can still be set using the Set Variables worksheet. Single material assignments can be done like this as well.

-Ryan


Ruben

  • *
  • Posts: 36
    •  
Re: Creating Assemblies
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2014, 04:49:31 AM »
We used the <Set-Groups> worksheet to assign components to groups, set the concepts and set the materials. Once this data is in the spreadsheet it is very quick to set up a new HyperSizer database if a new one is required, for example if a quick study on a temporary database. I also occasionally use a script to generate a FEM and the data for the <Set-Groups> spreadsheet is automatically produced.

The new method requires a lot more navigating through menus and screen selection.

Ryan

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 145
    •  
Re: Creating Assemblies
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2014, 09:54:47 AM »
Thanks for the feedback. We've been getting other requests for this, so we will update the spreadsheet to put this capability back in. I will post a follow-up when this is done.

Thanks,
Ryan

Ryan

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 145
    •  
Re: Creating Assemblies
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2014, 04:05:28 PM »

Ruben

  • *
  • Posts: 36
    •  
Re: Creating Assemblies
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2014, 03:29:58 AM »
Thanks Ryan, much appreciated.


RobDexter

  • Client
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    •  
Re: Creating Assemblies
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2019, 05:37:12 AM »
Just a note - watch the Excel cell formatting.
I exported component IDs in assemblies from Hypersizer and Excel sneakily re-formatted component range 01:10 as a time.
While 01:10 showed on the sheet, the cell actually contained 01:10:00.  This led to an empty assembly when importing.
Format the column as text before exporting and all's well.